Established in 1924, The University of Iowa School of Journalism and Mass Communication has long been recognized as a leader in journalism education. The School has produced thousands of distinguished graduates, and some have gone on to win Pulitzer Prizes, Peabody Awards, and Emmy Awards.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication moved into the Adler Journalism and Mass Communication Building (AJB) in January 2005. The 65,000-square-foot building has computer laboratories for audio, video, design, writing, web publishing, and a Student Center. The building also is home to the Iowa High School Press Association, the University’s award-winning student newspaper, The Daily Iowan, and DITV, a student run newscast.

The undergraduate program prepares students for dynamic careers in many traditional and new fields—working in media industries, or in other industries but within communications, and as entrepreneurs.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication offers a Master’s in Mass Communication, a Master's in Strategic Communication, and a Ph.D. in Mass Communication. Each emphasizes individualized inquiry into communication phenomena in a lively intellectual environment. SJMC students and faculty work together as a community of learners.

School of Journalism and Mass Communication Directors

Charles H. Weller                   1924-1927

Frank Luther Mott                  1927-1942

Wilbur L. Schramm                1943-1947

Leslie G. Moeller                    1947-1967

Malcolm S. MacLean, Jr.      1967-1972

Gordon A. Sabine                   1972-1975

Kenneth Starck                       1975-1986

John Erickson (Interim)        1986-1987

Don Smith                               1987-1990

Kenneth Starck                      1990-1996

John Soloski                          1996-2001

Venise Berry (Interim)           2001-2002

Pamela Creedon                    2002-2007

Marc Armstrong (Interim)    2007-2009

David D. Perlmutter               2009-2013

Julie Andsager (Interim)      2013-2014

David Ryfe                              2014-2022

Melissa Tully                         2022-Present